Review: Unleashed (Uninvited #2) by Sophie Jordan

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/006223367X/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&tag=albwormblogge-20&camp=1789&creative=9325&linkCode=as2&creativeASIN=006223367X&linkId=e53cda216e3cddfc4e2ab2185f420b99

Published: February 24th 2015 by HarperTeen
Rating: 3 out of 5

✤✤✤✤

Available from:

AmazoneBooks.com=Book Depository

✤✤✤✤

Synopsis:

Unleashed, the romantic, high-stakes sequel to New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's Uninvited, is perfect for fans of James Patterson's Confessions of a Murder Suspect.

Davy has spent the last few months trying to come to terms with the fact that she tested positive for the kill gene HTS (also known as Homicidal Tendency Syndrome). She swore she would not let it change her, and that her DNA did not define her . . . but then she killed a man.

Now on the run, Davy must decide whether she'll be ruled by the kill gene or if she'll follow her heart and fight for her right to live free. But with her own potential for violence lying right beneath the surface, Davy doesn't even know if she can trust herself.


✤✤✤✤

Review:

I have to say...I'm a fair bit perplexed by this book. I had to re-read Uninvited to read this one. Unleashed has been in my TBR pile forever. So without further ado let's get to the book.

Davy has escaped Mount Haven with Sean, Gil and Sabine. They're all holed up in a trailer near the Mexican border hoping to get by unseen, thanks to Gil's inside man.

After days of waiting the time comes to move but we've had to read many pages to hear about what Davy is thinking and doing. She doesn't feel the same way about Sean any more. Whenever she thinks of him or sees him she's reminded of the man she shot and killed. The same man who is haunting her. Eventually they get going and use a boat. They're spotted and the only option is to dive into the water. Davy gets separated from the others and she also gets shot.

Davy comes to in a cave. A strange man has pulled her to safety. This is the first moment we begin to see the new Davy. She's hostile and violent towards her saviour. He takes her into one of the Resistence Cells underground. She soon learns that he's one of three people in charge of the cell. But he's very young, only 19. And here on in, to be honest, the story goes stagnant. He is the new love interest, Caden.

Davy doesn't do anything. Yes, we get lots of thoughts of her doubt. Her woes of losing her friends. She whinges and moans about the need to get over the border and even when everyone is being incredibly kind to her, she's an absolute bitch. She also gets beaten up and almost killed. The rest of the story about the resistance is from her perspective but she's only an observer.

If I'm honest about Unleashed I would say the publishers didn't like the way the story was going and they closed Ms Jordan off. Maybe this is why it's only a duology rather than her usual trilogies. Apart from Davy missing her friends and the impending doom facing all the carriers this is a wholly enclosed story of the 'cell' and doesn't do anything in gaining advancement or momentum of the overall story. With only the few snippets and cutoffs between each chapter I actually learned more from those than from the main parable.

 This is no 'The 5th Wave' or even 'The Hunger Games.' For such big promise this book let me down. The story let me down.But don't take my word for it. Why not read it and let me know what you think?

-CBx

✤✤✤✤

About the Author
Sophie Jordan took her adolescent daydreaming one step further and penned her first historical romance in the back of her high school Spanish class. This passion led her to pursue a degree in English and History.

A brief stint in law school taught her that case law was not nearly as interesting as literature - teaching English seemed the natural recourse. After several years teaching high school students to love Antigone, Sophie resigned with the birth of her first child and decided it was time to pursue the long-held dream of writing.

In less than three years, her first book, Once Upon A Wedding Night, a 2006 Romantic Times Reviewers' Choice Nominee for Best First Historical, hit book shelves. Her second novel, Too Wicked To Tame, released in March 2007 with a bang, landing on the USA Today Bestseller's List.


You can find Sophie Jordan here:




✤✤✤✤

Follow and Like to Read More Bookworm Blogger #YA Reviews:


https://www.facebook.com/bookwormbloggerhttps://twitter.com/CharlottesBookshttps://www.bloglovin.com/@bookwormbloggerhttp://www.goodreads.com/user/show/5671265-charlotte-black
https://uk.pinterest.com/bookwormbloggerhttps://plus.google.com/u/0/101062532400721123197bwormblogger@gmail.com

✤✤✤✤


No comments:

Post a Comment

I love hearing from fellow readers. Write a message!